The opening of the 32nd Regional Juried Art Exhibit attracted a capacity crowd at the North Peace Cultural Centre last Saturday evening. One hundred and one original artworks from fifty nine artists throughout the northeastern region of BC have their works on show until April 17 in the Peace Gallery North.Juried Show 2014 009 (3)

The array of talent and skill was evident in the bold colours, delicate techniques and wild imaginations of the artwork. Rolla artist Karl Mattson’s Life Pod-The Vessel drew attention as a life size metal coffin, with interactive parts, big enough to step inside. Hudson’s Hope artist Arimathea Pappas’s Gala Enchantment grows live succulents in a wood and ceramics sculpture. Fort St. John artist Beth Ardill has entered the Juried Show every year since 1982 and Dawson Creek artist Jordan Holland entering for the first time as the youngest artist among the 59 artists involved this year.

The Fort St. John Community Arts Council hosted the show for the Peace Liard Regional Arts Council who has been staging this exhibition every year since 1982. Local artists, particularly emerging artists are given a chance to show their works, sometimes for the first time. The main purpose of the show is to seek out emerging artists and provide a welcoming and learning atmosphere. All artists have a chance to network and gain confidence

Keeping with the emerging artists’ theme, a children’s component of the Juried Show is led by Barb Daley during the next 3 weeks of the exhibition.  Barb will work with 240 Grade 5 and 6 students in art journaling using the artworks in the regional juried show as their inspiration. The Fort St. John Public Library and Barb have  the program well planned to start the young people on a path of discovery in art.

At the opening of the exhibit, three awards were sponsored by Encana. Jeff Beale was present to give the Distinguished Awards of $1000 to Judy Templeton for Delectable, the Recognition Award of $500 to Lynette Gullackson for Earth & Pine Renaissance II, and the Merit Award of $200 to Mike Kroecher for Day’s End. Two jurors, Dan Arberry and Lynn Le-Corre-Dalliare from Grande Prairie, critiqued the entire show and spent time talking with the artists and conducting a workshop the next day.

Nine additional artworks were chosen to complete the images for the 2015 calendar. Those are Rosemary Landry Shall We Dance, Shannon Butler Moroccan Planter, Joyce Benson Running Smooth, Tanya Shymko Return Home, Mary Parslow River Trees, Alan White Abstraction, Ken Forest Wild Encounter, Cody Smith King of the Mountains, Janis Herbison Sunflower Dance.

Honorable mentions were given to: Karl Musgrove A Tree Bond, Peter Shaw Shadow Fields, Joyce Benson Stormy Line, Eliza Massey Emerging Spring, Beth Ardill The Full Flowing River, Penny Boden Old Relic, Louise Switzer Ripe & Ready, Pat Vosseler Training Chinky Dancer.